Advent musings

Afternoon all. Welcome back to Team Clifford.

They year is really galloping on at the moment. It is the first Sunday of advent tomorrow. This always heralds the candle time of year here in the Eyrie so we are all very happy about that I can tell you. The little ceramic village comes out and we might even get some fairy lights this year. I can sneak a peek at each day’s advent calendar window just before that man comes in. For some reason he gets quite aggravated when I do this. Something about spoiling the surprise. You can imagine the scene can’t you. Our “hero”emerges from his bedroom all crumpled and grumpy and gets on with his morning routine. This involves eating industrial quantities of Weetabix and listening to the news on the radio. He decides that it will make a nice start to the day to see what the latest little picture is behind the door. He rushes to the advent calendar in a flurry of anticipation and what does he find dear reader? That’s right the reason he can’t find that day’s door is that it has already been opened. I think it is a bit excessive to say that I have totally ruined the day when I do this but harsh words are quite often exchanged. As you know this is nothing new so don’t worry too much. I have broad shoulders so I can take the abuse one way or another. I think it partly dates back to his childhood when he had to share an advent calendar with other family members. He was never cut out for sharing you know. Anyway in other breaking news he has been out on Father Christmas type business this morning and we know what he returned with. It is all very exciting as the next phase involves wrapping. This is always a hoot as he can’t seem to get the idea that the paper goes round the gift and is artfully arranged to make it look attractive. What he aims for ends up looking as if a small animal has had a good nibble at it all and then decided to wrap it for him. All I will do is share this sentiment with one of our followers who might be the recipient of one of these lovely parcels-forewarned is forearmed you know. Actually once again we can date this back to childhood times. One Christmas he was given a random selection of gifts to wrap on behalf of Big Nana. She had got a bit confused and gave him his own gifts to wrap. Personally I think this explains a lot about his subsequent emotional development-just saying!

I’m exhausted after that long digression. It is turning quite grey outside so I think that rain must be on its way. That will cool everyone off after the worse excesses of Black Friday. We didn’t go and grab a bargain here in the Eyrie. One of our followers got some Champagne going cheap in Tesco. I am sure that Uncle Rog will be able to supply the punchline to that particular gag.  We are actually saving up. We all quite fancy a round the world trip and so we are saving our pocket money. That man did say that he would be happy to put me on a slow boat to China but I don’t think he was being entirely serious. At least I hope he was joking!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.